//
you're reading...
Non-Fiction, Outrospective

In the Sinai, A Library!, Farms!, Ocean & Mountains….and brownies?

After reading this post at “Turning Bedouin” I’m very excited to arrive at the organic farm in Habiba Village, near Nuweiba, South Sinai, Egypt.  I’ll be arriving there mid to late march and staying most likely until early May.

The article talks about tourism beginning to rise again, with the stability that the post-revolution period has brought, in relation to the instability during the revolution.

A Community Market has begun every Friday and a library has opened.  I was ecstatic to hear both of these things!  I can’t wait to join the community in the area.  As the majority of my weight I’ll be bringing will be in books, I can’t wait to read some of my copies and donate more to them, traveling into Cairo and picking up more books for them.  I can’t wait to borrow and read more.

I can’t wait to be a part of the process for the food I’m eating, from growing to caring and harvesting and hopefully cooking.  Then helping sell the food at the market, and buying other goods there, even brownies!

What more could you ask for?

I get to farm for a few hours every day, working the land with my hands.  Then I get to explore, or read, or write, or swim, or hike, or sleep.  My life will be simpler.  I’ll make sure it is.

This is the website of the farm I’ll be staying at.  HERE.

About Jared Krauss

traveler, reader, thinker, writer, photographer, doer

Discussion

No comments yet.

What are you thinking? Leave it below. (Don't forget to like/vote :D Thanks!)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 861 other followers

The Past Posts

