//
you're reading...
Non-Fiction, Novation, Outrospective, Policy & Politics

A Non-Vote

Must I be forced to choose between, as is oft said, the lesser of two evils?

How dare you suppose that those are my only options.
How dare you suppose that if I will not vote for them, that I must at least vote for a third party.
How dare you suppose that not voting for the lesser of two evils—even if I’ll agree that that lesser is Obama, by a small margin—is a violation of my civic duty, an insult to those who have sacrificed their lives for my right to vote.

What of you who willfully cooperates with a system that sends people to “sacrifice” their life for our rights?
What of you who willfully cooperates with a system that quietly kills a thousand miles away, who mark it as a victory when innocents are killed, as collateral damage, in the pursuit of the War on Terror?
What of you who willfully cooperates with a system that blindfolds and simulates drowning over, and over, and over again in the pursuit of information, and argues that it is not torture?
What of you who willfully cooperates with a system that deems it their right to even define marriage?
What of you who willfully cooperates with a system that places in positions of powers leaders in countries which are not our own in the pursuit of “national interests?”
What of you who willfully cooperates with a system that spews rhetoric in the pursuit of democracy, only to fund governments, and provide the arsenal to militaries who kill civilians, put down protests?
What of you who willfully cooperates with a system that touts economic sanctions on Iran as a victory after riots in the streets by the people because now their unit of currency is not enough to purchase food?
What of you who willfully cooperates with a system that robbed you and me and millions of their homes, of their money in a bubble of economics?
What of you who willfully cooperates with a system which has the highest rate of incarceration in the world?
What of you who willfully cooperates with a system which has the largest population of incarcerated in the world?

Do not try and shame me and tell me that I am wrong for acting on principle.
Do not try and shame me and tell me that my idealism is foolish and foolhardy, and will never lead to a “world of daisies and smiles.”
Do not try and shame me and tell me that I need to be “realistic.”
Do not try and shame me and tell me that I’m “not going to change anything by complaining.”

I am acting.  I am standing up and saying, “Fuck you.”  So, fuck you.  I will act on principle, because someone must.  I will be foolish and foolhardy if it means that someone will do more than say there is something wrong with our system.

I am trying to provide ideas for solutions.  I am trying to force the issues.  I am trying to open your eyes to the world that I see, the future that I see where conflict will not mean diatribes on Facebook but batons in the face by an oppressive government.  I am trying to open your eyes to the world that I see, the future that I see where deaths from a single drone strike will be counted like points on Call of Duty, and touted on Fox News as a victory for America against the War on Terror while mothers and daughters, fathers and sons cry and wail and demand to know why.

You want to stop the War on Terror?  Stop supporting terrorism.  You want to stop this enigmatic cloud of jihad which conservatives tout as if it were their prophesied Death riding a white horse?  Stop supporting terrorism.
You want to stop relying on oil? Stop supporting politicians who receive millions in funding from oil companies, for activities both foreign and domestic.

Is challenging the system the end to all our woes?  Certainly not.  We must confront our own selves, our own actions within society.  We must challenge and question everything.  We must redefine what is right and wrong in the world.

We can no longer afford to act from the entrenched ideologies which have existed in history.  They have served their purpose, all the isms.  Communism. Capitalism.  Fascism.  Liberalism.  Libertarianism.  Conservatism.  These are not answers.  They are ideologies.  These are not solutions to our problems, they are blankets thrown on coals, burning through in the hottest parts, and eventually they will catch fire.

You may think that by voting for Obama or Romney you do not carry the stains of their sins on your hands, but you do.  You preserve the status quo.  You are giving your affirmation of their actions.  You are supporting their ideals.  Whether you like it or not, you are saying, “Yes,” to someone.  And that yes means: Act.  Act in my name.  Act in the name of America.  And we are all America and we shall be judged according to the actions of our government in the world abroad, and here within our own borders.
America is the sum of its people.

If you truly want to fight for change in America, than cast a Non-Vote.  A Blank Vote.

Acknowledge that there is no candidate electable.  Acknowledge that there needs to be a discussion about how we elect any official.  There needs to be a conversation about how we run ourselves, and with what principles.  Because now those principles are Money, Oil, and Military Power.

How dare you say I am being un-American.  I am embodying the simplest idea of America.  I am living and breathing America.  It is you, you supporter of tyranny outside of our own borders for this gluttonous life we all live here, you supporter of hatred and death abroad so that we may drive our cars, you supporter of terror around the world so that we may dictate the terms of actions in the world’s politics who are un-American.

I am but a radical fanatical idealistic fool wishing for a better tomorrow and foolishly demanding that we begin to plan and act on that wish today.  I am but a radical fanatical idealistic fool, easily dismissed as uneducated, crazy.  I am but a radical fanatical idealistic fool, what do I know, hippie that I am?

I do not want what is best for America.  I want what is best for the faceless individuals in America, in North America, in South America, Africa, Asia, Europe, Oceania, even Antarctica, those polluters.

I want a world where there is a greed for happiness.

But, what do I know, radical fanatical idealistic fool?

About Jared Krauss

traveler, reader, thinker, writer, photographer, doer

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: [Al Jazeera Opinions] Hamid Dabashi Feeds My Soul « Incessant Experiences - November 14, 2012

What are you thinking? Leave it below. (Don't forget to like/vote :D Thanks!)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 861 other followers

The Past Posts

